12 W. Miacomet Road, 508-325-0333
Nantucket is blessed to have a public 18-hole golf course, Miacomet Golf Club. The club land was purchased in 1956 when Ralph P. Marble bought 400-acres of farmland on Nantucket's southern shore with the intention of raising cows for dairy production. Four years later, he began to build a golf course. In 1963, Miacomet opened as a year-round 9-hole course for islanders and visitors alike. At the time, the course drew a small constituency of golf devotees from the recently closed Tupancy Links on Cliff Road. In the mid-1980's, Ralph Marble sold his land to the Nantucket Islands Land Bank. In 2003, the Land Bank built an additional 9 holes, designed by Howard Maurer, to make Miacomet the island's only 18-hole public facility. The original 9 were completely renovated during the winter of 2008. Today the course offers a great golf experience with high roughs, wind, and tight lies. The summer season runs from mid-May to mid-October. There is a Pro Shop, practice range, Nantucket Golf Academy, and excellent restaurant on site.
Sankaty Road, Siasconset (508) 257-6655
Originally constructed in 1923, the course is a classic link course. Cut from the rolling moors at the very east end of the island, Sankaty is well known for beautiful vistas of the ocean and surrounding moors. Sankaty Head Lighthouse dominates many views, especially hole #5, where the tee box overlooks the Atlantic as the lighthouse towers nearby. Sankaty is known for high rough and small, undulating greens and playing there is a true old world golf experience. The course is closed to the public from Memorial Day to Columbus Day Monday but is open to public play in the spring and fall. The Nantucket Boys and Girls Club and Nantucket Cottage Hospital have charity tournaments in the early summer and fall respectively. Those events are open to the public as well. For more information concerning public play call the pro shop at 508-257-6655.
260 Milestone Road, Siasconset, (508) 257-6596
Siasconset Golf Course, is the oldest golf course on island, and the oldest privately owned golf course in the United States open to the public. The land was originally leased by John C. Grout in 1894 from the Coffin family to develop a golf course. After changing hands a few times at the beginning of the century, Henry Coffin Jr. took over management in 1930 and ran the course until he passed away in 1994. On May 1, 2012 the Nantucket Land Bank and the Sconset Trust bought the land from the Coffin's and continued maintaining the course. Currently, it is run by the same management as Miacomet Golf Course, and is a 9-hole course open to the public. There are no tee times (first come, first serve), and the hour are 8am-6pm, 7 days a week.
NANTUCKET GOLF CLUB
250 Milestone Road, Siasconset, (508) 257-8500
Nantucket Golf Club was built as a members only club in 1997. It was designed by Rees Jones and is situated next to the Sconset Golf Course. The course is consistently rated one of the best in the state and garnered awards when it first opened. As a walking-only course with professional white suited caddies, Nantucket Golf club is a serious golf experience. The only way to play Nantucket Golf Club is to play as a member’s guest. It is not accessible to the public.